Pumpkin Ravioli in Sage Browned Butter

Yyyyyep. It’s that time of the year!

Menus are changing to reflect the season’s bounty and even though it was 90 degrees outside yesterday, I decided to throw on my flannel and get into the fall spirit. I’ve never really cooked/baked with pumpkin before. My family is more of the chocolate pie type so I wasn’t really exposed to it while growing up.

Apparently I’ve decided to make up for that all at once by cramming pumpkin into everything I do. This post is about pumpkin ravioli, I will be making another post soon about pie, AND I currently have 40+ bottles of home-brewed pumpkin ale sitting in my closet. I am committed to this season.

Back to the ravioli! Making fresh pasta is relatively new to me as well. It is surprisingly simple. All you need is a good dough recipe and decent pasta machine (I purchased mine from Bed Bath and Beyond for about 30 bucks). If you’re super adventurous you can try rolling it out by hand but, honestly, the investment is completely worth it.

Yield: 8 servings

Pasta Dough

  • 2 cups semolina flour
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/8 cup white wine
  • water as need

Directions:

Combine all dry ingredients in a stand mixer fitted with a hook and make a well in the center. Crack the egg in the well. Start the mixer on medium speed and stream in the oil and white wine. Allow the dough to knead until a stiff dough forms. If it seems too dry then add some water a teaspoon at a time.

Wrap the dough tightly in plastic wrap and let it chill in the fridge while you make the filling.

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups pureed pumpkin (this can store bought or you can make your own by splitting a pumpkin, removing the seeds and roasting it for 30-40 minutes. The pumpkin will be super tender when done).
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Combine the pumpkin and cream cheese in a bowl. I used a rubber spatula and it worked pretty well.

Saute the garlic in the butter just until fragrant (about 30 seconds to 1 minute). Add it to the pumpkin mixture.

Season with nutmeg, salt, and pepper.

Rolling Out Pasta Dough

When using the pasta machine I like to work in batches. I broke this amount into thirds. I would run it through the machine a few times on the widest setting. Fold it in half after each turn and add flour if necessary to keep the dough from breaking. Once it passes through the machine completely smooth, you can begin to lower the setting.

My machine’s setting is from 1-7 with 7 being the widest. I roll my dough out at a 3. It should be thin but not transparent. Once your dough is rolled, sprinkle some semolina on your work surface and lay the dough flat. Using either a pizza roller or biscuit cutter, begin to cut your ravioli shapes (I used a 2 1/2 inch biscuit cutter). They can be round or square or oblong… Its a personal preference!

FIll the Pasta

With my 2 1/2 inch circles I used about a teaspoon full of filling. I placed the filling slightly off center in the circles and brushed a little bit of water/egg wash around the edge before folding the pasta around it. Try not to overfill the pasta! It should have a defined edge free of air pockets.

Place the pasta on a sheet pan or plate lined with parchment and sprinkled with semolina (to keep it from sticking).

Finishing the Dish

Get a pot of salty water boiling for the pasta. Once the pasta is in the water it will only take 1-2 minutes for it to cook. You’ll know it’s done when it floats to the top. Strain out the pasta, toss it on a tiny bit of olive oil to keep it from sticking and set it aside.

The sauce is simply a 1/2 stick (2 ounces) of butter that you melt down and allow to heat up until it begins to turn brown and gives off a nutty aroma. At this point you’ll want to toss is a few sage leaves and allow them to simmer for about 5-10 seconds (it doesn’t take long). Remove the leaves, pour the pasta into the pan and toss it on the browned butter for another half minute, adding a little more salt and pepper to taste, before turning off the heat and pouring the pasta onto a serving dish.

I garnished my pasta with fried sage leaves which can be made by heating up canola oil in a saute pan and frying the leaves for about 3-5 seconds before moving them to a paper towel lined plate. You can also use parsley… or nothing at all… I won’t tell you how to live your life.

Serve the pasta while it’s hot! Preferably with a festive ale… Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

