Creamy Potato Soup and Pseudo Illnesses

Last week I woke up feeling as if I had been hit by a car. My body hurt, my nose didn’t work, and I just felt in a daze. I was convinced I was coming down with the flu. Any time I feel a sickness coming on I automatically crave soup (I later realized that it wasn’t the flu but rather allergies that plagued me that day. I feel like a wimp).

When I headed over to the grocery store it was a gorgeous 63° outside and thus the weather was reassuring me that soup was indeed a good decision. And then the afternoon came. What started out as a cozy kitchen was quickly turning into the surface of the sun and I was in a race against time.

I chopped onions, peeled potatoes, grated cheese as fast as I could trying not to take notice of the sweat beginning to appear on my brow. As I finished up, pouring the last bit of cream in and ladling out a bowl for myself I (metaphorically) breathed a sigh of relief. My joy was cut short though when I realized that, without a working nose, I am incapable of actually tasting my food.

I had my friend Megan taste it for me and she assured me that the flavors and seasoning were on point. So without further delay and more unnecessary stories, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 large russet potatoes (peeled and roughly chopped)
  • 1 medium onion (medium dice)
  • a couple of cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 8 ounces of cheddar cheese (grated)
  • 1 pint of cream or half & half
  • salt and pepper to taste
First chop up some onions.

Then dice up the potatoes…

Add the potatoes to a pot of cold water filled just enough to cover them… and put it on the stove on high heat.

While the potatoes are boiling saute the onions in butter on medium heat… Add the garlic towards the end and cook for a couple of more minutes…

Grate up some cheese… Whatever cheese floats your boat… Just make sure it melts well!

Once the potatoes are tender, take a potato masher and go to town!

Then add the cheese…

Next you’ll add the cream/milk/half and half.

Allow the soup to thicken up slightly on low heat… then enjoy!

One thought on “Creamy Potato Soup and Pseudo Illnesses

Leave a Reply

