First Week of Culinary School: ServSafe and Horror Stories

 

I’ve officially survived my first week of classes at the Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts. Before we can start practicing our knife skills and get into the kitchen we have to take our ServSafe course and (hopefully) pass the test for certification.

The purpose of ServSafe, I’ve deduced, is basically to make you lose your appetite and never want to eat food again. So far I have learned that pretty much everything is covered in staph and feces and all food is out to kill me. For the love god EVERYBODY WASH YOUR HANDS.

Thanks to Chef Robyn and Chef Rich I now know that:

  • If I don’t clean my operation on a regular basis then I WILL END UP ON KITCHEN NIGHTMARES.
  • If I don’t make sure all building systems work and are checked regularly then I WILL END UP ON KITCHEN NIGHTMARES.
  • If I don’t take the proper precautions for pest control then I WILL END UP ON KITCHEN NIGHTMARES.
  • Never buy brisket from a random guy who knocks on your door because he most likely stole it from the local grocery store by shoving it down his pants.

We got to hear “fun” stories about meat grinder accidents, coughing up parasites, and losing limbs in industrial mixers. If that doesn’t wake you up at 7am then I don’t know what will.

4 thoughts on “First Week of Culinary School: ServSafe and Horror Stories

  1. It was important information, but the 2 days we spent on Food Safety were torture. It was non-stop lecturing from a boring Food Safety Inspector for 8 hours per day while we tried not to doze off. On the 3rd day we had our certification exam, right after the pastry program served us up an ice cream social. The test came while we were all sugar crashing. So glad that’s over!

  2. Hey Loren, I’m glad that’s done. We all will feel safer now. I might need the course myself. I probably have staph all over my food. love, nonnie

Leave a Reply

