Call Me a Doctor! I FALAFEL!!!

Seriously. That was sad. I’m sorry. There really is a lack of good falafel jokes out there…

I’ve been a fan of falafel for years now, ever since I came to Austin for school.  Over the years I’ve developed a habit of only eating it when I’m downtown late at night. We used to frequent Kebabalicious, an amazingly delicious food truck located on 7th Street but, as I’ve gotten older, I find myself going downtown less and staying at home watching Netflix more. So today I figured it was high time I learned how to make this choice dish.

This is going to be another two-parter post, the first will be all about falafel while the latter will be a recipe for a cucumber/dill/yogurt sauce.

Most falafel is fried but I chose to bake them, partially because it is a lot healthier and also because I read that the falafel is more prone to falling apart when its being fried. It’s a win-win in my book!

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2teaspoons dried cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 dash pepper
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup dry bread crumbs
Cast of characters:
First off you’ll want to mash the chickpeas into a sort of paste. DON’T do it i the blender or else it will come out too smooth and your patties will fall apart. I used a fork and it worked well…
Next you’ll want to combine the onions, garlic, and parsley in a food processor, or a blender in my case, and blend it until its smooth. I added the lemon juice to help this process.
Combine the chickpeas and onion/parsley mixture a bowl and MIX!
It’s look like this and it’ll smell super fragrant and herby (I might have made that word up… HERBACEOUS… thats what I meant to say… Although “herby” is starting to grow on me now…).
Combine the egg, cumin, cayenne, baking powder, cilantro, salt, and pepper (and lemon juice if you didn’t use it earlier) in a smaller bowl…
MIX MIX MIX MIX MIX MIX! Then add it to the main chickpea mixture…
THEN, add in the olive oil…
…and the bread crumbs! Now your mixture should be pretty thick…
Form the patties by making little falafel balls then lightly pressing down on the middle… About the size of your palm.
I ended up with 12. You may end up with 8 or 18… It’s all about personal preference!
Arrange the patties on a baking sheet and lightly brush the tops of them with olive oil. Bake them in a preheated 400 degree (F) oven for 10 minutes. Then flip the patties over, brush the other side with oil and bake them for another 10 minutes. If they are not as brown as you’d like then maybe put them under the broiler for a couple of extra minutes. They will smell DIVINE.
While the falafel patties are baking take some time to make this simple cucumber-dill-yogurt sauce… or, you know, don’t… Its your life… But I believe you’ll really appreciate the cool, tangy flavor this will add to your falafel.
Dill Cucumber Sauce
  • 1 (6 ounce) container plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cucumber – peeled, seeded, and finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon fresh dill
  • salt and pepper to taste
Simply add all of the ingredients in a bowl and mix together… Maybe sneak a taste!
YUM!
And here’s the final product! Eat your heart out, eh!
If you have time please take a look at my pita tutorial.
Leave a Reply

