Macarons!

Both the love of my life and the bane of my existence. I had to buy a kitchen scale to get the measurements right, and I also learned that almond flour isn’t cheap. I’ve made these twice. The first group basically melted together in the oven. don’t get me wrong, the colors were beautiful but good GOD was it a mess… Which leads me to possibly the most important factor in making macarons… batter consistency. I was so nervous that I was going to over-whip the egg whites that I ended up not quite whipping them enough. I rectified this problem in my second batch and they turned out beautifully. The recipe is here. Mine were vanilla flavored and I used buttercream instead of ganache. Perhaps when I have more money I’ll make these again with more interesting flavors (the combinations are infinite).

I love photographing them… They have so much personality!

One thought on “Macarons!

Leave a Reply

