Heath’s 21st Birthday & Valentine’s Day

I was extremely excited to create Heath’s cake. Making the fondant appear to have the same texture as wood was a new concept to me, but I was eager to give it a shot. This was also my first time creating chocolate flavored fondant. I used my go to fondant recipe as usual, but substituted unsweetened cocoa powder for part of the powdered sugar (only about half a cup or so). The final result tasted similar to a tootsie roll, so I think I might be on to something… The bottles were molded out of rice krispie treats, and the ice cubes are blocks of regular fondant. This was by far one of the most fun cakes I’ve made!

Heath’s birthday also happens to fall on Valentine’s Day. I had seen these amazing edible heart shaped boxes on Bakerella’s website and I HAD to try it. I used red velvet cake as the base, then covered it with homemade red fondant. I filled the boxes with red velvet cake-balls and bourbon balls. I love how they turned out and I can’t wait to do it again!

Leave a Reply

